PDA

View Full Version here: : Need advice on refractor issue

obrads
25-02-2017, 02:24 PM
hey guys i am new to this hobby and have become aware of some weird refraction i am getting in my images, i have contacted saxon about it and they gave me some advice but i heard people here where very experienced and would like a second opinion below i will list some photos and the whole story, thank you.

:help:
so i use a saxon ED100 and have been imaging with it. i use a T48 adaptor to a nikon D3. around bright stars i get a warped halo with refraction at long exposures. i use a focusing mask so it isn't bad focus and my tracking total error is always below 0.60 seconds. i posted on redit forums and Facebook and people suggested a few reasons. 1. over exposure 2. lens is not aligned correctly. 3. not everything in the scope is aligned.
it can't be over exposure because my mate with the same set up can get much more data and over expose and he doesn't get the warping and i did some test with making sure my camera was straight and that wasn't the issue. it only comes up with more exposure and brighter objects (had no issue with eta Carinae) . i messaged saxon and they said it could be the focusing rod not aligned? and i can adjust it myself. what do you think of that? i nervous to adjust the scope incase i make stuff worse and then they won't replace it if there is an issue. don't really know what to do or where to go. i don't know what the issue could be or how to fix it. some advice would be greatly appreciated thank you. :shrug: i can't upload the files for some reason so here is a link to my facebook album with the photos in a public album: https://www.facebook.com/obrads/media_set?set=a.1326545910694577.10 73741833.100000175411197&type=3

Merlin66
25-02-2017, 02:57 PM
Alex,
Love to help, but for many various reasons I don't do Facebook, so I'm unable to access your images/ video.

glend
25-02-2017, 03:14 PM