PDA

View Full Version here: : Collimating 8" Celestron SCT

Pharian
16-10-2016, 03:57 AM
Hi all,

Total noob question here (I really have virtually no idea what I'm doing).

Does anyone know of a clear and simple guide to basic SCT collimation? Something similar to Trevor's excellent "Setting up a GEM" guide?

Basically I'm going bush shortly to a site down a bumpy dirt track with no internet at the end so I'm trying to get everything I might need prepped before I go.

Thanks!

iborg
17-10-2016, 09:34 AM
Hi

I don't know how good this link will be, but, have a look.

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=144423

I am yet to collimate! But, I do have Bob's knobs to change to when I do.

Philip

miker
17-10-2016, 01:13 PM
Christopher, you will find a lot of good info links here on CN..

http://www.cloudynights.com/topic/111773-sct-collimation-howto-links/

Good luck.

Michael.

The_bluester
17-10-2016, 02:24 PM
They are fairly simple to collimate, pretty much just centre and slightly defocus a star until you see diffraction rings at a reasonably high magnification and if the rings are not concentric, you want to move the centre dot of the star towards the side where the diffraction rings are spread out rather than bunched up.

To figure out which screw/s to adjust, while looking through the eyepiece, place your finger in front of the corrector plate, pointed from the outside towards the centre (so radially) it will take a little bit of contortion to look through the EP and put your finger there at the same time but is doable with the short tube of the SCT, don't touch the corrector plate as you will put finger prints on it. Move your finger around the outside of the corrector plate, always pointing at the middle. You will see the shadow of your finger in the image at the eyepiece.