PDA

View Full Version here: : 10 Micron GM1000 hps Mount


atalas
11-08-2016, 01:28 PM
Hi Guys

Ok, so I'm looking and buying a high end mount and have been considering the 10 Micron GM1000 HPS.

If anyone here is using one I would love to here your thoughts on it please.:)

Atmos
11-08-2016, 01:54 PM
I've read up on and heard a lot about these mounts, lots of good feedback on the CN forum. I was seriously thinking about buying one of these but ended up going down the ASA route.

codemonkey
11-08-2016, 02:08 PM
I'd kill for one of those. Do want.

gregbradley
11-08-2016, 02:19 PM
Its probably a fine mount but I would only really consider an AP mount these days. Too many stories of SB quality issues and my AP1600 mount handles the CDK17 like its nothing and PE is half of my excellent PME mount.

Plus its field upgradeable with encoders later if you want. Most likely cheaper as well.

Greg.

atalas
11-08-2016, 02:24 PM
Hi Col

Yes i'm reading through reviews as we speek!I am leaning towards the 10 Microns,very impresive tracking which seems to be unmatched without absalute encoders.

Also thinking of the MX+ with internal cabling and a greater capacity but,I can't stop thinking about the 10 Micron specs!25kg capacity is fine for now I guess but not exactly future proof.....It's a tough one.

atalas
11-08-2016, 02:28 PM
:lol:Glad you don't know where I live then....or do you?:help:

Hey,If I get one just wait a couple of years and It will probabably be up for sale.....keep you out of prison:lol:

DavidTrap
11-08-2016, 02:31 PM
I don't know about AP being cheaper when you factor in the encoders Greg, but I'm with you on AP being a quality product. Their customer support is fantastic - had a nice chat with Howard on the phone about their new software. Feels like a family run company.

DT

Atmos
11-08-2016, 02:44 PM
I only got the DDM60 so it has the same capacity as the GM1000. As I am likely to be on a nightly setup for the foreseeable future I know I won't need anything more than a 25kg capacity. If you feel it may not be future proof then it may be worth while taking that extra step up. I have gone down this route to take guiding out of the equation, I have an interest in doing what could considered as survey work so guiding and mount settling just eats into too much imaging time for me. If you're planning on guiding anyway there is also the Mesu200 mount that may interest you :P

atalas
11-08-2016, 02:45 PM
Yeah sure Greg, but It's out of my budget range for now and the absalute encosers on the AP's are an add on and very expensive. The 10 Micron are built in and If you look at the tracking charts....unbelievable! and I think from what I've read up to date electronics and software.

The Paramount track record of late has got me concerned as well....I think that's a good point you make there Greg,and one I can't just dismiss.

On the other hand with the 10 Micron quality control is what I'm trying to find out by posting here.

atalas
11-08-2016, 02:52 PM
Well,I want to dither so yes I'll still be guiding(there going to be long guiding exposures)and Mesu200 I did have a brief look....very brief!It's ugly:lol:

So far the only thing that I don't like about the 10 Micron mount is that you can't route cables internally....can work around but would be nice for automation:)

Atmos
11-08-2016, 02:57 PM
It does have that kinda steam punk look to it that some find quite attractive :P The benefit of astronomy is that most of the time we don't actually have to look at it hehe
FYI you can dither by mount so you don't need a guider. You can in MaximDL, not sure about any other software though.

atalas
11-08-2016, 03:03 PM
Yeah,like a punk chick from the 70's.....yuck!

Ah,how does that work....Maxim tells you to kick your mount between exposures? :lol: nah,sounds good though Col...might look into Maxim,cause I won't have any money left after this....still gunna need a pier.

Somnium
11-08-2016, 03:06 PM
Just to give my 2 cents worth with the PM+, it is an excellent mount especially when you use it with TSX, but there have been some quality issues. i have had a worm gear and a motherboard replaced under warranty. the SB guys will replace faulty equipment under warranty without too much trouble but you would rather not have the issues in the first place.

atalas
11-08-2016, 03:17 PM
Hello Aidan....yes,thta's what I want to avoid...thanks for your input:thumbsup:

The Mekon
11-08-2016, 06:05 PM
All I can say is that I saw a 10 Micron GM1000 in action at this years SPSP. It was awesome. If ever I buy another large apo, this will be the mount for it.

atalas
11-08-2016, 07:28 PM
Good to hear John!

beren
11-08-2016, 08:04 PM
Hi Louie unfortunately haven't got a 10 micron but are you going for a more permanent set-up, larger scopes? I would prefer a bit more payload capacity at the GM1000 price point {9000 US ?}. A new AP 1100GTO is close to 8000 US with a rated capcity of 50 kg and like Greg mentioned absolute encoders can be added later in kit form....as new with them installed 14000 US , the GM2000 is about the same price with 60kg capacity. Good luck with the choice the 10 micron mounts look great......noticed Claude at AEC is an agent, if you give him a call use a landline you'll be on the phone for a while :D

atalas
11-08-2016, 08:23 PM
Hi Stu

Yep,I'll be going through Claudi If I decide on the 10 Micron....the AP1100 is out of my price range for now.

atalas
12-08-2016, 08:28 AM
Has anyone in Australia bought and used one?

Logieberra
18-08-2016, 08:24 PM
Hi Louie, it's been a long time :) I second everything Greg had to say above re AP. What's the price difference between the comparable GM and AP models?

atalas
18-08-2016, 08:52 PM
Hi Logan

Ok,my money went down on a mount and I decided against the GM1000. The Ap1100 was $3000.00 higher than the 10 Micron,and quite a bit more than what I chose,bur I think I made the right choice....I hope.

Atmos
18-08-2016, 09:44 PM
If not the AP or 10Micron... Where did the financial wind blow?

gregbradley
19-08-2016, 05:13 PM
The Ap1100 can handle way more payload so its more future proof. The GM was more like the AP Mach 1 so it had a limited payload and not future proof.

What if you wanted to use a 12 inch scope of some sort? The GM would've struggled.

Greg.

atalas
07-10-2016, 07:26 PM
So,for that one person that might be curious on what mount I chose It was the MX+ ! Did I here you ask why?(hard to hear one person in a crowd)well,many reasons but here are some.

1: Double the capacity(more future proof)

2: Much better suited to remote imaging

3:Love the Versaplate and internal cabling ability

4: Love the SkyX Pro software and addons(the ability to control from one software is a must)

5:Actually good value for what you are getting out of the box

Ha!did I hear you ask If Im happy with? yep sure am:thumbsup:

So far with the small amount of testing I've done with It I must say I'm very impressed with It's performance.....haven't quantified PE as yet but shall do If the clouds ever decide to bugger off!:cloudy:

While I've got your ear I would just like to thank Peter Ward from ATS for a great deal(saved me over $1000.00)and excellent after sale service!cheers mate:thumbsup:

Atmos
07-10-2016, 07:56 PM
Glad to hear about your new mount choice!
It is the absolute encoders that really put up the price on the GM1000 compared to other mounts. For their capacity they are expensive that is for sure :)
I should probably try to do my PE at some point just for kicks with my DDM60 :P

Slawomir
08-10-2016, 06:11 AM
Great news Louie - looking forward to seeing your new sharp astro images with pinpoint stars :thumbsup:

atalas
08-10-2016, 01:10 PM
Yeah they are for now Colin but who knows maybe the prices on them when come down in the near future....with a bit of luck!


:lol:Ok....just for kicks



Hope so Slawomir,there's still just a tiny tiny tiny little matter called seeing and It sure is crap around my area.....would you settle for round stars?:lol:

Slawomir
08-10-2016, 01:18 PM
Rounds stars will do Louie :)

But several imagers from Sidni produce excellent astro photos, so I am sure seeing is not that bad all the time.

BTW, some very nice counterweights hanging off a very nice focuser :thumbsup:

RickS
08-10-2016, 09:56 PM
Nice set up, Louie!

atalas
09-10-2016, 07:28 AM
Remember Rick,It's not what you know It's how you look doing It:lol:

Octane
10-10-2016, 02:21 PM
Congratulations! She looks beautiful. :)

I'll have to pop round one day and have a bit of a look-see. :D

H

strongmanmike
10-10-2016, 02:51 PM
Wow great looking setup Louie! Hope it proves all you hoped for!

You should be able to make your excellent images..?..even more excellent :thumbsup:

Mike

Somnium
10-10-2016, 02:57 PM
That is a nice looking mount. i think you made the right choice, after getting a replacement worm block for my PMX+ my peak to peak PE was around 1.5 arc seconds! it is a really impressive machine.

atalas
10-10-2016, 04:33 PM
Hi H!

Yeah no worries old mate....just give me a buz to make sure I'm home!I want to talk to you about automation as well.

atalas
10-10-2016, 04:35 PM
Thanks Mike:)

atalas
10-10-2016, 04:40 PM
Hi Aidan

I think so too!I followed your thread on your issue over at the Software Bisque site and so,I hope I don't have the same issue but at least I'll have a head start and know what to do:thumbsup:

Octane
11-10-2016, 10:17 AM
I'll be in touch with you as soon as I know when I'll be in Sydney next. :)

H

atalas
11-10-2016, 01:00 PM
Just realized....wrong quote:lol:very funny.

Cool see you then H!