PDA

View Full Version here: : Baader Solar Film Question


[1ponders]
07-11-2006, 06:15 PM
On Thursday morning I will be aiming to get a full solar globe set of images using the meade 6.3 reducer on the Orion ED80 and I've suddenly realized I don't have a 2" IR/UV filter to fit my 6.3 reducer and have no way of converting it to take my current 1.25: filter to achieve correct colour balance.

My question to my learned colleagues is, will the Baader Solar Film perform a similar function. It is after all designed to keep out harmful rays.

Dennis
07-11-2006, 07:18 PM
Hi Paul

I believe that you will still require an IR blocking filter based on my experience yesterday, Monday, as follows:


I had the BAADER AstroSolar™ Density 3.8 Photographic only full aperture filter on the Vixen 4 inch and was experimenting with a newly acquired BAADER Solar Continuum filter (http://www.astrovid.com/prod_details.php?pid=1943).
I removed the BAADER UV/IR cut filter from the ToUcam and replaced it with the BAADER Solar Continuum filter (designed to enhance the visibility of solar granulation and sunspot details). Well, the image was a mess; a big bright blob that would not resolve into any detail in spite of adjusting all the settings in K3CCDTools.
I then re-fitted the BAADER UV/IR cut filter and this made a significant improvement.
A little puzzled, I browsed the web and found the following at the Adirondack website (http://www.astrovid.com/prod_details.php?pid=1943):

“For digital imaging, we also recommend the Continuum filter be combined with our UV/IR Cut Filter (to completely cut the defocused far infrared wavelengths)”.

So, I suspect the answer is yes, you do need a UV/IR cut filter as well as the BAADER AstroSolar™ filter.

Not what you wanted to hear old bean!

Cheers

Dennis

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 07:29 PM
why do you need the 6.3 focal reducer paul, the sun would be too small in the ed80 with it in?as for the uv/ir, yes you need that, even that contrast booster they talk about

[1ponders]
07-11-2006, 07:30 PM
Bugger! Thanks Dennis.

OK any idea how I can fit an 1.25" UV/IR filter to the front side of a 6.3 FR :P

[1ponders]
07-11-2006, 07:30 PM
'cos I'm using the SAC to image with not a DSLR. Without the FR the solar disc is likely to be too large to fit on the chip.

Dennis
07-11-2006, 07:37 PM
Yeah Paul - why use a reducer? I actually fitted a x2 photographic teleconverter to my WO 80mm f7 and the Sun filled the frame as seen below.

Cheers

Dennis

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 07:44 PM
Alright Mr MyDUstMoateIsBetterThanYours:P :whistle: what way was the pentax oriented when you took that, it looks 90degrees out when compared to the "official" format. only asking because can use the sunspots to reference NSEW and position better for the initial entry;) :lol: Love the image scale too - awesome.

SO who can ship a uv/ir cut 2" filter in less than 24 hours.......................:lol: :D

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 07:46 PM
was the 2 time converter at prime on the camera and the scope adapter added to that?:help: :shrug:

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 07:47 PM
give it the SAC and go DSLR paul, at least the canon has the filter still in place?:D

[1ponders]
07-11-2006, 07:57 PM
True, but I really really really want to use the SAC :D

Besides my 2X teleconverter get terrible CA

[1ponders]
07-11-2006, 07:58 PM
Hopefully it will be clear here tomorrow morning and I can get in a few trial runs with different camera/scope setups.

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 08:02 PM
just dont give the guilty charge, hanging the camera is not allowed in australia (trial??? get it):lol: :screwy: :doh: :whistle:

[1ponders]
07-11-2006, 08:13 PM
:doh:

Now I know why you work for a living h0ughy. :whistle:

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 09:44 PM
:rolleyes: :ashamed:

[1ponders]
07-11-2006, 09:46 PM
i.e. don't give up the day job :lol: :poke:

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 09:46 PM
paul run a series of ed80 normally with the canon 300D, I havent done that yet?

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 09:47 PM
I cannot, as it funds my night time/day time activities:thumbsup:

[1ponders]
07-11-2006, 09:47 PM
Are you thinking for image size or resoloution?

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 09:48 PM
both Paul

[1ponders]
07-11-2006, 10:11 PM
I've been doing a bit of thinking, and I might have a way out of it. I have a 9X50 Stellarvue finder scope similar to yours. I could remove the eyepiece from that and put the SAC/ToUcam in there. If I can get it to focus, possibly with a barlow my problem could be solved. I'm still going to be imaging with the 8" and the SAC/ToUcam so I'll get some closeups. Hmmmm I'll have to snaffle my DSI IR filter to use on one of them. I hope it's fine tomorrow and my lovely wife feels like playing sorcerers apprentice again :lol:

Dennis
07-11-2006, 10:12 PM
Crikey and by the heck - I popped outside for 15 mins to try my GPUSB adapter and PHD guiding application and returned to find this runaway thread!

Anyhow, Msieu Hoff, here is a photo of the config.

Cheers

Dennis

Dennis
07-11-2006, 10:19 PM
I suspect that York Optical in Brisbane will have a 2" Baader UV/IR cut filter. Worth checking if desperate.

07 3252 2061

Cheers

Dennis

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 10:22 PM
mmmm too much information Paul, we don't need to know you use the wife for slave labour:D :P while you play with your wand:rofl: , but you have inscribed in me an image I would like to see, the use of the small scope that is!:D :P

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 10:25 PM
crickey! that is a monster of a teleconverter, I have never seen one like that, I have the straight 2 times Sigma DC teleconverter, will that do the same job for me? was focus easily reached? does the exposure time increase as as result? have I asked too many questions?
:rofl: :thumbsup:

h0ughy
07-11-2006, 10:27 PM
:)

Striker, someone buy it before Paul get out................only kidding. I hope it works for you:whistle:

[1ponders]
07-11-2006, 10:28 PM
Good idea. Thanks. Or even Sirius Optics

Dennis
07-11-2006, 10:38 PM
Hi H0ughy

It is a very old (25 yrs) Teleplus Macro 7 element converter. The really nice thing about it is that when I get rough focus with the WO focuser, I then lock the WO focus lock and move to the teleconverter, which has a helical focusing ring that you can see in the photo. This “built in” focus ring is there for use with the macro settings of the teleconverter and it makes it so much easier to get best focus.

Yes - the exposure time doubles. If the native lens is at say, F8, then adding the teleconverter will make it an F11 system, so you do "lose" light. The image posted was 1/500 sec at 200ASA.

As your teleconverter probably does not have a focus ring, you will have to do all your focusing with the 'scope focuser. But other than that, your x2 converter should behave the same as mine; probably better if it is ED glass?

Cheers

Dennis