PDA

View Full Version here: : Skywatcher Synscan problems

Jocksquin
25-04-2016, 10:46 AM
Hi all,
newbie here and my first post on the forum - but learning fast.
I have a Skywatcher 8" Newtonian on an EQ5 mount and have recently purchased a new Synscan upgrade kit. No issues installing it but i have to agree the included instructions were rubbish. Plenty of online help though.
The new Synscan equipment is proving excellent in terms of finding objects and a big step up from the manually controlled RA and DEC motors I had previously.
However,the new equipment is not without it's "mechanical" problems.
When aligning or finding objects,in fact when even slewing the mount,the directional buttons on the hand controller can "stick" in the ON position without warning and the only way to stop the slew and keep the object in the eyepiece is to quickly press the opposite directional control which seems to stop the slew. The condition I am describing seems random and one time a button works perfectly but the next,sticks "ON" - occurs on more than one directional arrow button.
Has anyone experienced this same problem with a Synscan hand controller?? Is it a known fault?? Any way to fix it without returning the product?:question:
Grateful for any input

Merlin66
25-04-2016, 12:11 PM
Ron,
Welcome on board!
Not a usual problem with Synscan....what version are you using?

raymo
25-04-2016, 12:50 PM
Your problem is the opposite to what is often experienced with remotes
for scopes, TVs, etc: The motor speed buttons 4 and 7 on my Synscan
were reluctant to work, so I removed the cover and cleaned the contacts
with metho, all fixed.
I would imagine that you have something mildly sticky in there that could easily be cleaned up.
raymo

astronobob
25-04-2016, 02:21 PM