PDA

View Full Version here: : A baby step towards a truss imaging newt

HenryNZ
07-02-2016, 01:50 PM
I have been lurking on this forum for a while now. I have always wanted to image with a fast newt. I am thinking about getting a gso 8" F/4 newt, gut it and put the optics in a DIY truss frame. This is more a test and the idea is that if it works out then it will form basis of future larger newt, and if I fail I can put the optics back in the original tube which is still within the limits of my neq6 so nothing is lost.

Now I am a complete novice with woodworking and metalworking so I have been dragging my feet making a start. But this weekend I finally take the plunge and rout out two rings for the UTA using some hardwood board I have lying around. I told myself if I could not cut out a good set of rings it would be an omen for me to stop here and there, but they seem to come out alright...total cost so far = 0.

Now that I have the top rings made, I need to figure out how to make the centre frame and the primary mirror holder / LTA. I think for the former I will copy / imitate Rolf's idea by using a few square aluminium tubings riveted and welded together. I am not sure what I am going to do with the LTA but would like to reuse the centre circles left over from cutting the top rings. For the trusses I probably will also copy Rolf and get some carbon tubings from hobbyking to save cost, but I am a bit puzzled as to how the trusses should be attached to the hardwood / aluminium parts.

Some hand holding is much appreciated.

Add: went to hardware shop. That piece of scrap timber I routed out is no hardwood. It is just an undressed pine board. Seems hard and square but probably no good in the long run. So will need to do it again but it's a good exercise nonetheless.

glend
07-02-2016, 02:47 PM