PDA

View Full Version here: : 10" Dob or Meade LXD 8" Schmit Newt????

davewaldo
02-10-2006, 09:09 AM
Hi Guys,

I was considering buying Striker's 8" meade Schmit newt instead of the GSO 10" Dob which I have ordered.

What do you guys think?

To start with I will use the scope for mainly visual work and I hope to progress to a bit of imaging.

The main benifits I see to the meade are: Able to be easily EQ mounted, Beter built & is more suitable for imaging.

Benifits for Dob: More light grasp, comes as full kit with eyepieces, But not very suitable for imaging.

Also the dob is quite a bit cheaper.

I'm just a beginner so what does everyone think?

Cheers

Dave.

PS. I really need to know today because if I chose to go with the Meade I need to cancel my order for my dob.

Astroman
02-10-2006, 09:19 AM
For visual work,go with the dob,nothing beats apature. The 10" can be mounted on platforms like Mike has (Iceman) or even equatorialy mounted on an EQ6 or G11. There are some mods you can do to the GSO to make it perform better like new focuser and cooling fans, but for starting out, you have gone the right direction. Stay with the 10". Imaging can get very expensive too.

[1ponders]
02-10-2006, 09:22 AM
As much as it pains me to say it Dave.....go the dob :( If you are just starting out and are unsure whether astrophotography is your game then for visual work you will prefer the dob.

Another thing to think about as well is if you use a Dob then the eyepiece is always in a handy viewing position, using an eq mount the eyepiece can end up in some fairly awkward positions. You can of course loosen the rings and rotate the tube, but that's a bugbear, plus if the tube slips you will have to do your realignment (if you have goto)

The schmidt newt is a nice scope, fairly well respected for imaging (not the best, but not the worst by a long shot) but I don't think it compares to the 10" dob for visual.