PDA

View Full Version here: : Recommended Scope for Nebula and Solar System Astro

adzza
04-06-2015, 10:52 AM
Hi All,

I am very new to this, and I am sure this question has been asked many a times, but...

I am looking at buying a telescope for astrophotography (nebulas etc.). Initially I plan on using a DSLR for shots (Canon 350d and 550d, I know they are not great but its a start!). I intend on moving to ccd when I can afford it.

I already have the t-adapter etc which is being used in a really crappy telescope (dad's flybuys Telescope LOL!) at the moment. What I am asking here today is for some recommendations on a telescope and tripod and goto mount for a newbie. After doing some research I know I should be looking for something like the following scope:

A refractor scope
ED APO
72-100mm

I am a network engineer and as such intend on connecting the goto to my pc/tablet, and also setting up remote viewing on the dslr to a tablet, and possibly even the projector inside my house, so the misses can see what I am taking photos of from the warmth of the house. I live on a large block in the hills in Melbourne's outer Eastern Suburbs, with a lot of space so might even build a DIY observatory up the back of the property. I will provide more info on this once I get established, but its nice to have a goal! Also Happy to have other members join me too for stargazing sessions from my deck. I'm about an hour from Melbourne, in Monbulk which should provide for somewhat lower ambient light conditions :)

As far as brands go etc I guess that's where I need your help. At this stage I envisage a budget of around $2,000, which in this game I know isn't much, but I am hoping to possibly pickup a great deal on the forums for around this price, or less if possible.