PDA

View Full Version here: : Current leakage NJP

LewisM
21-11-2014, 07:16 PM
Setup my "new" Takahashi NJP today, and powered it up with the Tak 12V/24V mains converter that was included in the package.

Grabbed the hand controller paddle, and almost dropped it (I knew better, despite the brain telling me to let go!) - was getting shocks from it!!!!

Somewhere in the system, there is obviously a current leak - I presume it is probably the hand controller, as touching other parts elicited no tingling (the current is SO low - thankfully LOW amperage - as to only tickle like one of those trick handshake thingies).

I am no electrician, so when I disassemble the hand controller, what should I be looking for - a frayed wire, a wire touching the metal casing, or? Only feel it at certain points like the face securing screws and hook.

I am sure it will be a simple fix, but I sure don't want to be out hot and sweaty or cold and dewed up touching that thing :eyepop::cool3:

Other than that, WHAT A MOUNT! Sure does sound like a gas turbine spooling up when it ramps up to slew :) Quieter than the EM400 too, without that odd "reversal" sound.

rmuhlack
21-11-2014, 07:41 PM
I get the same thing with my mounts. Solved the problem by running an earth wire from the tripod leg to a grounding peg.

Hans Tucker
21-11-2014, 08:02 PM