PDA

View Full Version here: : Lightbridge 12" Deluxe - Can't Focus Image!?

datorrey
27-08-2006, 10:42 PM
Help! I'm a beginner, and the proud but confused owner of a new Meade Lightbridge 12". The scope arrived badly out of collimation; only half of the primary mirror was visible in the secondary. I've followed the instructions and have it ready to use, but when put in an eyepiece and try to focus, I hit the outer limit of the drawtube's travel before the image is clear. If I then pull the eyepiece out of the drawtube by an inch or so, the image is just barely in focus.

I talked to Meade, and after making sure that I hadn't run the collimation bolts to their limit and shoved the primary mirror halfway up the tube, they told me that I need an "extender", which they will ship free of charge.

I'm a little puzzled by this. Isn't the focal point of a telescope a function of its length, and the positioning of the mirrors? Isn't getting the scope to form an image within the limits of the focuser a pretty basic thing? Should I return the scope and insist on one that doesn't need extra parts? I hate to return it if I don't have to, as I live in a remote part of the country. Getting to UPS is a three-day yak trip (well, OK, slight exaggeration for effect).

The guy on the phone muttered something vague about "it has something to do with the glass...", but wouldn't let me talk to the backroom guy who proposed the solution, so I really don't understand what's wrong.

I don't think that the collimation that I did is the culprit, as I've used very little of the travel of the collimation bolts on both mirrors. Any information would be appreciated. Thanks!

-daniel

janoskiss
27-08-2006, 11:29 PM
:welcome: to IIS Daniel!