PDA

View Full Version here: : A night with Marana

Oleg
22-10-2014, 10:16 PM
G'day everyone.

A couple of months ago I accompanied Alex Massey (Gondwana Telescopes) to the Queensland Astrofest where I had great opportunity to try the telescopes he makes.

Since then Alex asked me to write a review based on my experience with the Marana telescope. So here are my humble observations.

The scope was a 12" Dobsonian reflector, no Servocat, no any pointing device, pure vanilla push-to Dob.

You can see Marana here (http://gondwanatelescopes.com/ultralight-telescope-marana)

I got my first impression when I saw his 3 telescopes in the boot of his Outlander. The box for Marana is as thin as my box for eyepieces, very compact for a telescope, I recon he could put 7-8 Maranas over there without any problem.
At that time I couldn't figure out how everything is packed inside, all that looked very impressive and quite secure at the same time.

I must say that I'm relatively new to the Amateur Astronomy, I had only 3-4 scopes, and most of the time (about 2 years) spent with my full metal 14" Orion push-to Dobsonian, it could probably be used as a rocket launcher due to it's big weight and stability.

Fast forward to the second day in the camp, Alex had a presentation of it's new scope Marana, where he showed the guts of the box, all bits and pieces, all is neatly located inside, - that's really nice feature, you don't need to have a dedicated box for your scope parts, everything including the telescope is securely packed within the telescope itself.

The assembly took reasonable time, it was not much faster than assembly of my scope for example, but it takes less effort to assemble Marana due to it's small weight.

I was surprised to see the secondary mirror on a magnet and honestly was doubtful of it's ability to hold a collimation properly, but it turned out to be a very solid piece and it hasn't changed it's position once during the night session.