PDA

View Full Version here: : 9.25 Ronchi tests

matt
12-08-2006, 10:59 AM
Guys

As promised, here are the Ronchi test results from the testing carried out by Don Whiteman @ Bintel.

I'm no expert, but these tend to suggest a combination of figuring errors including under/over-correction and possibly turned down edge.

I'd really welcome your opinions/diagnosis on what these images reveal.

Not pretty, are they? Certainly a long way from straight up and down parallel lines:mad2:

Thanks

RB
12-08-2006, 11:12 AM
I'm no expert either but boy they don't look right.

casstony
12-08-2006, 11:17 AM
I'd also like to know what minimum wavefront is represented by straight lines at f/10. I read somewhere that the ronchi test wasn't good for checking astigmatism, so you'd still need to check that on a star.

Tony

matt
12-08-2006, 11:41 AM
Tony

The scope didn't show any detectable signs of astigmatism, from what I understand that to be.

There was no 90 degree flaring of stars as you took the image through one side of focus to the other.

janoskiss
12-08-2006, 01:01 PM
I believe that sensitivity of Ronchi tests depends greatly on type of scope being tested. The "defects" you are seeing here may well be within tolerance limits for high quality mirrors. You need to talk to someone who knows how to interpret these tests for a given scope.

E.g. my Dobs Ronchi test just about perfect, but the 4" Mak shows wavy fringes. But for its small aperture the Mak performs very well for its aperture at high powers.

matt
12-08-2006, 01:05 PM
Steve

With all due respect, this is nowhere near being within tolerance limits.

There's no need to parenthesise the "defects"... they are DEFECTS.

You might wish to take up the matter with Don Whiteman who carried out the test and described them as "horrible".

I reckon he's an expert and knows what he's doing? He'd qualify as someone "who knows how to interpret these tests":D

janoskiss
12-08-2006, 01:39 PM