PDA

View Full Version here: : Video Astronomy Question

glenc
13-07-2013, 10:05 AM
I am thinking of buying a Skywatcher Black Diamond Flex-tube 10" "Go-To" Dobsonian and a
Samsung SCB-4000 Box Camera 1/2" to use for video astronomy.
Is this a good idea? Can I get something better for $2000 or less?
Would it be better to buy an Orion XT10g Goto Dob?

Blake
13-07-2013, 11:58 AM
Hi Glen,

I'm looking at buying a new set up myself to do some visual work and move in to astrophotography. I'm no expert by any means, but I might be able to share some things that might be worth looking at. The more experienced folks here will be able to offer more advice.

If you're talking about video astronomy, I'm guessing you want to video lunar/planetary bodies?

I can't comment on how good the Skywatcher GOTO flextube dobs or the Orion dobs are since I've never owned one, but what I would probably be most be concerned about it the fact that it is alt-azimuth tracking. The video capture might have a bit of shaking on top of the atmospheric turbulence. The best mounts for imaging at least (I'd think it would be much the same for video), are equatorial mounts. They might have a bit of a learning curve to set up and polar align etc. but in the long run if you want to get in to astrophotography/video you'll most likely want an EQ mount anyway. The learning curve will be worth it to. If your budget is $2000 or less, I'd probably have a look at something like a Skywatcher HEQ5 with a Bintel BT200 f/5 or f/4 newt. You can get a package like this for $1699 from Bintel (http://www.bintel.com.au/Telescopes/Reflector/35/catmenu.aspx). The scope is only 8 inch aperture, but for your budget and if you want to go for an EQ mount, it's about as good as it gets. Might be worth keeping an eye out on the classifieds on the forum as well. Not to say that the dob wont be good, I have seen some awesome images taken through dobs.