PDA

View Full Version here: : Orion Mini Autoguider Question

Cazka
24-05-2013, 11:13 AM
I'm just getting into astrophotography, and was looking at purchasing the Orion Mini Autoguider Package (http://www.bintel.com.au/Astrophotography/Autoguiders/Orion-Mini-Autoguider-Package/403/productview.aspx) to use for autoguiding, but found out that the mini guidescope isn't compatible with bracket included on my telescope (Explore Scientific ED80 refractor).

My question is, does anyone know if it can be attached to a mounting plate on top of the telescope tube rings, similar to how other guidescopes are, like in this picture (http://www.astrophotography-tonight.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/astrophotography-gear.jpg), or can it only be attached to a compatible bracket on the telescope?

rogerco
24-05-2013, 04:53 PM
I have the Orion ED80 and it has similar screw fittings on the top of the main tube rings, you can attach the guidescope tube rings directly to these without he need for the adapter or bar.

Cazka
24-05-2013, 07:29 PM
But the mini guide scope doesn't use tube rings. It usually slides into the telescope's finderscope bracket, but the one for my telescope isn't compatible. I was trying to see whether anyone knew if it could slide into/onto mounting bars on top of the tube rings of the main scope. I've been looking around the web, but haven't managed to find out whether that's possible.

rogerco
24-05-2013, 10:01 PM
Sorry, didn't read the "mini" part.

Stardrifter_WA
25-05-2013, 01:41 AM
Hi Craig,