PDA

View Full Version here: : supernova remnant versus planetary nebula

arecibo
04-02-2013, 07:01 AM
Hi. My name is Miguel, and I started learning Astrophotography (by doing) about one year ago.

With a 750/150 SkyWatcher newtonian, several Canon EOS cameras, and miscellaneous accessories, in a heavily urban light polluted site, and a highly turbulent place (meaning, that I have very poor seeing, almost at all times).

So I've tried every "easy" Deep Sky Object in sight (mi field of view covers from about 10º South to 60º North of Declination).

The case is that I've noticed that, mostly (considering the circumstances), supernova remnants tend to have O-III emission in the outer shell, and H-alfa in the inner. While planetary nebulae tend to reverse the distribution.

And I was wondering if that's a known (and explained) Astrophysics fact, or just chance (due to my less than complete experience).

Cheers.

ZeroID
05-02-2013, 02:33 PM
Hi Miguel, :welcome: to IIS.
An intriguing question indeed. Hopefully someone will be able to give you an answer to this as I certainly don't know. Have you searched for the answer on Google or elsewhere ?

arecibo
07-02-2013, 01:18 AM
Thank you, Brent.

No, I have not. But it's not a bad idea ... perhaps a bit difficult to apply because of the overflow of answers :)

PS: I just tried; to no avail, the terms are too general to find anything meaningful (404000 results in google).

bojan
07-02-2013, 11:45 AM
Go to Wikipedia, stellar evolution (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stellar_evolution) and start from there...

madbadgalaxyman
07-02-2013, 08:01 PM
I am not sure that I can answer your question, Miguel, as I am not an astrophysicist, but here are some pertinent facts. I hope some of our resident "physics heavies" will contribute to this thread.