ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
13.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
6:00 am
Perth
4:00 am
Auckland*
9:00 am
New York*
4:00 pm
Paris*
10:00 pm
GMT
8:00 pm




Memorising the Maria
Submitted: Tuesday, 10th April 2007 by Stephen Saber
Memorizing the Maria: Jack and the Mutant Beaver

Jack and Jill went to our moon to fetch a pail of water.

(After breaking his crown and her tumbling after they both got really weird.)

Jill set off to search the far side, while Jack was to take the pail and scout the near side.
 
Quite suddenly, Jack ran into Luna's only other inhabitant, the Mutant Beaver.
Formerly representing the constellation Beavius (now occupied by the Pleiades), the Mutant Beaver had been forever banished to our moon by Cepheus for biting Perseus' ankle during his fight with Cetus to save the lovely Andromeda.
 
Finally having someone to talk to, the Mutant Beaver refuses to let Jack pass until he's heard every silly moon joke he's been making up during his exile.

Jack, to this day, endures the Mutant Beaver's ramblings.
 
(Jill was last reported near the crater H.G. Wells ;)

 

jack%2526beavius-1.JPG

Click to Enlarge
Memorising the Maria

Further Reading

Article by Stephen Saber (saberscorpx). Discuss this article on the IceInSpace Forum.

 

Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2017 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.